27 individual area that comes under Egypt’s top jurisdiction and is administered by a Governor are either urban, rural or both. It may comprise of one city but is subdivided into districts. Rural areas are called markaz and urban areas are called qism.

Egypt has 27 different governates. Egyptian Governorate provides an administrative districts made up of different cities and suburban areas. Some are a mix of urban and rural, while other governates are just cities such as the Cairo Governate or Alexandria governate.

Egypt Tours are worth visiting that lets you leave the modern world behind and enjoy the naturally deserted retreat kingdoms of ancient culture and lifestyle.

From comprehensive sightseeing tours, accommodation arrangements and transportation formalities- every aspect of your Egypt Tours will be carefully handpicked to cater to your taste and interest. All you must do now is sit back and enjoy the Egyptian Holidays show!


The rural areas were controlled by local government and were not subjected to state penetration before 1952. However, Government efforts to mobilize peasants and deliver services were significantly improved after 1952 revolution, but administrative controls over the peasants remained intact.

Local Government enjoyed this limited power till 1979. Central Government was then divided into 26 governorates each of which is further divided into towns and villages.

After 1979, Governors appointed by President were given more power and a governing structure was created at each level. And decentralisation measures were taken to minimise local demands on central treasury.

When Mubarak came to power, decentralization and local autonomy became more of a reality, and local policies often reflected special local conditions.


Egypt enjoys 3 levels of jurisdiction.

  • Top level was Governorates that comes under Governors, has a capital and atleast one city.
  • The next level was marakiz or aqsam. That is rural areas are divided into markiz and urban areas are subsequently divided into aqsam.
  • The lowest level of division is village or district whose heads are appointed by their governors.

Out of 27 Egyptian Governorate, we can focus on 10 Governorates that plays high-flying and crucial role in Egypt Tourism. Those are:

  • Cairo Governorate
  • Aswan Governorate
  • Giza Governorate
  • Luxor Governorate
  • Sohag Governorate
  • Alexandria Governorate
  • South Sinai Governorate
  • Red Sea Governorate
  • Faiyum Governorate
  • New Valley Governorate

Tourism In Egypt provide the Best Thing To Do In Egypt as this diverse and incredible … you visit Egypt to learn about its culture, history, landmarks, and more.

But even after all that Egypt Tourism brings Egypt spectacular beaches, Egypt’s art & culture, thrilling activities, food, riveting nightlife, Egypt’s particular brand of wine and dine and many more action and adventure.

We can discuss these Egyptian Governorate in details and plan our sightseeing accordingly. Nile Holiday bases his tours and packages on more Governorate but it is important to know these basic names before we dig further. If you have more questions, you can call or write to us…

Load more

Frequently Asked Questions.

Some of the most common questions asked by tourists.

Build Your Trip To Egypt 2023/24? Need Our Help On Packages?

Looking for Egypt Tailor-Made Tour? Get In Touch With Nile Holiday, One Of The Best Travel Agencies In Egypt & We Will Create Something For You.

Phone Support

24 Hours a Day

(+20) 122 303 7766
Connect With Us

Social Media Channels


Sign Up For Special Offers